Faketober #3

Another week, another fresh, hot batch of Fakemon designs! As I’m typing up this description, I’ve got a butternut squash soup simmering on the stove… so I guess you could say I’m feeling the October spirit. But this isn’t a food blog! Let’s talk Pokemon!


Day 13 – Vampire

13 VilucardVilucard [dark/poison]
The Villainous Pokemon

Evolves from ??? @ Lv. 30+ during a New Moon

It constantly plots dastardly schemes to spread chaos and fear. However, its plans are always foiled by HEROLUNE.”

The Vampire and Werewolf lines are meant to be rivals — were always intended as such, which is why their prompts are consecutive in the list. But I ran into some trouble with deciding what to base their designs on at first; vampire bats are kind of overdone, so I experimented with different kinds of bloodsucking animals at first, like mosquitoes and leeches, until I decided on… a bat-cat thing. I already HAD a bat and a cat. Oops. But when I was thinking of themes that I could combine, I realized I’d never done a villain/hero duo… and so I combined that with dog/cat and vampire/werewolf to make Vilucard and Herolune simultaneously. I also based it a little on that purple cat guy from DBZ.

Vilucard is one of my favorite faketober mons thus far, at least in terms of what I like to draw. I just like to draw furries, I guess? It has a preevolution that I haven’t drawn yet — for a name, I’m thinking “Minyan” even though I’m cringing at the pun as I write this. I think I’d have this guy on my team. Its signature move, “Drain Life” is a Dark-type attack that heals the user for half of the damage dealt.


Day 14 – Werewolf
14 Herolune

Herolune [ground/fighting] The Vigilant Pokemon

Evolves from ??? @ Lv.30+ During a full moon

It rises with the moon to do battle with its sworn nemesis, VILUCARD. It has a strong sense of justice and will protect those who cannot defend themselves.”

I’m a cat person, but I know that they can be evil bastards sometimes, so a heroic dog seems like an obvious counterpart. Also, a werewolf would make for a cool super-powered alter ego, kind of like the Hulk. There’s no reason there can’t be a good and not-scary werewolf, right? Ground/Fighting counters Vilucard’s Dark/Poison so it seemed like a pretty good type combination; it’s also two types that have gone unused this far. From a certain angle, Herolune’s moon-shaped tail looks kind of like a superhero’s cape, which I’m gonna pretend was intentional. My canon Pokemon inspirations for this guy’s design were Lucario and Hawlucha.

He has a pre-evo also, probably a ground type puppy. A “mild-mannered alter ego,” if you will. I plan to draw it soon.


Day 15 – Frankenstein

15 Junkenscrap

Junkenscrap [steel/electric]
The Scrap Metal Pokemon

Does Not Evolve

“It salvages discarded appendages from other Steel-types, which it attaches to its own body. It holds itself together with a strong magnetism.”

Yeah, I know that Frankenstein is the doctor, not the monster! I’ve read the book, I’ll have you know. Since Frankenstein’s monster is stitched together using parts from other bodies and given life via lightning, I thought a robotic creature that was made of parts of other robots would be a fun twist. I was kind of surprised when I looked into Steel-type Pokemon and I found out that only a few of them were properly robotic. Most Steel-types are actually animals whose bodies are coated in metal; they are very much living creatures. The Magnemite and Klink lines are really the closest it gets; there’s no true “robot” pokemon (yet). So I had to make do with what I could find, and I included parts from some of my own fakemon, too.

These are all the Pokemon whose parts were borrowed for Junkenscrap’s design: Steelix (jaw); Magnemite (magnet neck); Bronzong (body); Klink (shoulders); Metagross (right arm); and my own fakemon Tracton (which you might recognize from Uranium version) which provided the left arm and tire treads.

If you could find this guy in a game, I imagine it would come in several different varieties using different body parts, but I’m not gonna spend time drawing those so you can use your imagination.


Day 16 – Spider

16 Scubell

Scubell [bug/water]
The Deep Diver Pokemon

Evolves from ???

It stores pressurized air in its abdomen that enables it to breathe underwater for hours at a time. When threatened, it propels itself away with a forceful blast of bubbles.”

Based on a Diving Bell Spider, another seriously cool animal that really should be a Pokemon already, and a diver suit. A friend of mine drew a comparison to Treasure Knight from Shovel Knight; I was thinking more of a Big Daddy from Bioshock, but that works too I guess.

When I was working on this design, I researched lots of other cool kinds of spiders that I could use. There are currently just two spider Pokemon — Ariados and Galvantula — which leaves a whole host of untapped opportunities. Some of the other options I considered were a Daddy Longlegs and a Net-Casting spider, the latter of which is also an incredibly cool creature which could EASILY become a Pokemon, so somebody snap that up quick! Spiders are awesome, I’ve always liked them ever since I read Charlotte’s Web as a kid.


Day 17 – Doll

17 Plusheem->08 Dreamare

Plusheem [fairy/normal] -> Dreamare [fairy/dark]
The Toy Pokemon

“Its soft, huggable look makes it popular among small children. Its body contains a squeaker that makes noise when it’s squeezed. When it doesn’t get attention, it squeaks mournfully.”

“Wait a minute,” you say, “I’ve seen that one before!” Yeah, Plusheem is a pre-evolution for #08 Dreamare. It’s a stuffed toy that’s alive, but before it turns evil. I wanted it to look like something straight out of Dr. Seuss, or Monsters Inc. I guess. I suppose the whole “haunted-doll-turns-evil” thing has been done before with Banette, but this is different, because it’s not a ghost, right? RIGHT??? Ah, hell. It’s cute anyway.


Day 18 – Haunted House

18 MausolurkMausolurk [ghost/rock]
The Crypt Pokemon

Evolves from ???

“As its powers grow, its home crumbles around it until it disintegrates entirely. When this happens, it searches for a new haunt – forcing out its previous inhabitants if necessary.”

This design took me a really long time, and I’m still not completely happy with it. I even spent a long time doodling haunted houses in my sketchbook, trying to understand the architecture before settling on this design. Mainly I’m concerned with how the face looks way too much like Spiritomb… and also for practical reasons, it would be impossible for this thing to move around! I do like the idea of a hermit crab-esque ghost Pokemon, though…

I do take some refuge in the fact that this is the final stage of a 3-stage line. Its preevolutions have designs which I like a lot more but I’m not showing them yet. (You can probably guess which prompt they’ll be for.)


Day 19 – Candy

19 Candelite

Candelite [fairy]
The Sweet Pokemon

Does Not Evolve

“It carries an endless supply of sugary treats in the basket on its tail. Eating them can give you a temporary boost, but consuming too much can have adverse effects on one’s health and mental state.”

Awww, it’s so cute! Taking a break from the creepy designs, here’s one that’s inspired by my other favorite thing about October: eating enough sugary treats to enter into a food coma. Fittingly, Candelite’s signature ability is Sugar Rush, which acts like Speed Boost only it affects all Pokemon on Candelite’s side of the field. It also learns lots of different moves that give stat boosts to its allies. If Pokemon were more like League of Legends, its roll would be Support.

Also yeah its wings are candy wrappers. Where does the endless supply of candy come from? I don’t know! Fairy magic maybe.


That’s all for today; there will be 2 more entries after this, one with #20-27 and another with #28-31, the three legendaries. We’re closer than ever to Halloween! Scary stuff!

Keep it spooky everybody!

~ Oripoke

Leave a Reply

