Fakemon Designs: Jerbolta

jerbolta1

Name: Jerbolta
Classification: The Sand Mouse Pokemon
Type: Electric/Ground
Ability: Quick Charge*
Moves: Volt Switch, Dig, Nuzzle, U-Turn, Rollout
Evolution: Does Not Evolve
Dex: The spines on its back stand on end when charged with electric energy. Its cute appearance makes it popular among children and young trainers.

There are some tropes that repeat themselves game after Pokémon game, and one is that every generation has its Pikachu equivalent. At first, I didn’t want to include one in Uranium, because I thought they were too cliché. Over time, though, I realized why they were so popular: electric rodents are super, duper cute. In the end, even I couldn’t resist.

(In-game sprites. 14 colors. In Uranium all backsprites are now fullbody shots.)

 

The Design

Jerbolta’s real-world inspiration is several rodents, most prominently a Jerboa:

enhanced-28149-1395360745-6

D’awww.

Since jerboas are desert creatures, I thought that electric/ground was a fitting type combo, not to mention a nearly-unique one (the only Pokémon that shares it is the unpopular Stunfisk). While I was designing it, I sent a rough draft to a friend, who provided me with the suggestion to enlargen the head, emphasize the spikes, and make the feet skinnier. The result was a ‘mon with a much more distinctive shape.

Jerbolta Silhouette

I enjoy revealing new Pokemon as silhouettes.

Of course, as soon as I posted the teaser, people immediately guessed correctly that it was a Pika clone (or, they compared it to Sonic the Hedgehog). I think that’s a good thing though, that it’s immediately recognizable for what it is, even in silhouette form. When people see this in-game, their first thought is gonna be, “I want to catch it!”

And, courtesy of JV, it gets a new ability (that makes it slightly OP, even considering its base stats):

Quick Charge: Always moves first on the turn it gets sent into battle.

There’s plenty of priority-abusers in the Uranium meta, so Jerbolta has company. I can imagine its super-fast, unblockable Volt Switch will get quite annoying, though.

And, just for fun, have two variants: a Shiny and Nuclear variation!

jerboltashinyjerboltanuclear

Today’s entry was short, but I just wanted to show off this design and talk about it a bit. It’s really grown on me and, I’ve been drawing it all over the place ever since (including in the margins of my notes!)

Jerbolta will appear in Pokemon Uranium 1.0, which is coming… sometime this year. :p

Up next is another Fangame Review, so stay tuned for that!

~ Oripoke

3 thoughts on “Fakemon Designs: Jerbolta

Leave a Reply

